So you want to be a driver? Driving on the roads is easy. Yet, what if you happen to suffer a car accident when you vehicle is uninsured? If you ever come across such a situation, a sr-22 can come to your rescue.
What is sr-22, you ask?
In essence, it is an insurance document for vehicle liability issued by the California Department of Motor Vehicles. In reality, it can help you get back your driving right which was seized due to the uninsured car accident. The document, known as the Safety Responsibility vehicle liability insurance document, is valid for 3 years for those drivers who are without car insurance and is a proof of financial stability and that the driver has the minimum required insurance coverage.
Getting a sr-22 after an uninsured car accident can sometimes be really difficult. Sr-22 is usually required to reinstate the driving rights which are normally suspended after an uninsured car accident. The State of California, like most other U.S states, requires sr-22 to reinstate a driver’s license.
SR-22 being a high risk policy is not offered from all car insurance companies. You are required to pay installments from few months to even a year in advance. People often look for the cheapest monthly installment SR-22 insurance policy. You are required to maintain the minimum insurance coverage. The insurance documents acts as a proof of your financial responsibility in case you get involved in an accident or a certain traffic offense.
Penalties for Drivers without Car Insurance California:
SR-22 helps you pay the owner the cost of injuries and property damage until it exceeds the owner liability limits. You must tell the insurance company that you are required to carry SR-22.
Getting a SR-22 after an uninsured car accident helps you in reinstating or getting your driver’s license. Your insurance company pays your dues. All the dues are covered until the cost of injuries and property damages cross the liability limits. The California SR-22 policies make sure that only those who have minimum liability insurance of their vehicles drive on the roads.
What to do after an uninsured car accident?
After the accident, the driver fills up the sr-22 form and the insurance company sends the SR-22 form to the department of State which takes around 30 days for processing. After the processing is done, the State issues a letter in favor of the driver. The SR-22 is only required for the license reinstatement. In case the driver has failed to renew their insurance policy, the insurance company notifies the State. If the driver is unable to pay the insurance premium to the insurance company the State suspends the driver’s license.
In the end, it is perhaps better to get your vehicle insured so as to avoid all the hassles. Insuring your vehicle will not only help you recover the costs of the damages you might have to face during an accident but also help you possess a peace of mind.
Latest posts by Raphael Locsin (see all)
- How Credit Affects Homeownership - August 1, 2016
- New Business Restrictions: Santa Clarita Fire - July 26, 2016
- 5 Things to Know Before Signing a Rental Agreement - July 16, 2016